Compare

Leafwright vs PDFMonkey

The PDF API that doesn't make you build a template first.

Leafwright renders the documents your product already produces. POST raw HTML, a public URL, or a Handlebars template with JSON to one API and get a signed PDF link back — invoices, reports, statements, certificates. An AI studio drafts and repairs templates on the same engine, brand kits keep every document on-brand, and AI agents render over MCP.

PDFMonkey is a template-first PDF API: you build a Liquid or Vue template in its dashboard, then send JSON to render it. It's a capable tool with good automation connectors — but there is no raw-HTML endpoint, so if your documents start life as HTML, you rebuild them as templates before you can render anything.

Your first PDF is one request

POST /api/v1/pdfs
curl -X POST https://leafwright.co/api/v1/pdfs \
  -H "Authorization: Bearer $LEAFWRIGHT_API_KEY" \
  -H "Content-Type: application/json" \
  -d '{
    "source": { "type": "html", "html": "<h1>Invoice #1042</h1>" },
    "delivery": { "mode": "sync", "return": "url" }
  }'

# 200 → { ..., "download_url": "https://...signed URL..." }

No template to create first — send the HTML you already have. On PDFMonkey the same job starts in the dashboard: build a Liquid or Vue template, then render it with JSON. Full API reference →

Switch to Leafwright if you…

  • already have the HTML — your app renders invoices or reports and you just need them as PDFs
  • want AI to draft and repair templates instead of hand-maintaining Liquid or Vue
  • connect AI agents over MCP — remote server or npx -y @leafwright/mcp
  • want 5× the free monthly volume while you build (100 PDFs vs 20)

Stay on PDFMonkey if you…

  • are invested in Liquid or Vue templates that already work
  • drive documents from Zapier, Make, or n8n
  • need JavaScript to run at render time, or PNG/WebP/JPG output

Feature comparison

FeatureLeafwrightPDFMonkeyEdge
Raw HTML & URL renderingFirst-class: POST source.type=html or a public URL — no template required.No raw-HTML endpoint; the documented path is a {{htmlContent}} workaround inside a template.Leafwright
AI templatingAI drafts templates and repairs them from render logs; brand kits lock fonts, colors, and footers; a11y and print checks before publish.Not stated on pdfmonkey.io (September 2026).Leafwright
Visual builderCanvas studio on the same engine the API renders with.Vue Builder and Code Templates, plus @pdfmonkey/cli.Split

Both ship a real builder — different surfaces.

MCP for AI agentsRemote server at leafwright.co/mcp (OAuth 2.1) and local @leafwright/mcp.Not stated on pdfmonkey.io (September 2026).Leafwright
Free tier100 PDFs + 8 AI drafts per month, $0, no card.20 documents per month, plus a one-time 300-document 30-day trial.Leafwright
Serverless fitHosted rendering — one HTTPS call from your function.Hosted rendering — same story.Even

Either one keeps Chromium out of your bundle.

Webhooks & deliverySigned success and failure webhooks; delivery to a signed URL or your own S3/GCS bucket.Svix-powered webhooks; downloads via 1-hour signed S3 URLs.Split

PDFMonkey's webhook tooling runs deeper; bring-your-own storage is Leafwright's.

Engine transparencyChromium 151, version-pinned (Playwright 1.62); published in the API docs. Upgrades are deliberate, never a side effect of a rebuild.Chrome 133 (“Chrome v5”) with public version pins.Even

Both pin and publish; Leafwright currently runs the newer engine.

Output formats & render-time JSPDF only; HTML sources reject script, iframe, form, and external assets by design.PNG, WebP, and JPG alongside PDF; JavaScript at render time on paid plans.PDFMonkey

Need image output or server-rendered JS charts? PDFMonkey is the better fit today.

Document capsExplicit caps, validated up front: 200 pages, HTML 250 KB, CSS 120 KB.Bounded by render time (30 s–5 min by plan); no published page cap.PDFMonkey
Automation connectorsREST API and MCP; no iPaaS connectors.Zapier, Make, and n8n.PDFMonkey

Pricing

At 3,000 documents a month the two cost within a few dollars of each other (Indie $19 vs Pro €15) — price is not the reason to switch here.

The gap is at zero: Leafwright's free tier carries 5× the monthly documents (100 vs 20), with AI template drafts included.

Leafwright

USD · verified September 2026

  • Hobby$0·100 PDFs + 8 AI drafts
  • Indie$19·3,000 PDFs
  • Pro$79·15,000 PDFs
  • Business$299·80,000 PDFs
  • 1 credit renders a PDF of up to 50 pages; hard max 200 pages per PDF.
  • Hobby is hard-capped. Paid plans meter overage past the monthly limit — details on pricing.

PDFMonkey

EUR ex-VAT · verified September 2026

  • Free€0·20/mo
  • Trial·300 docs / 30 days
  • Starter€5·300/mo
  • Pro€15·3,000/mo
  • Pro+€60·5,000/mo · PAYG €0.006
  • Premium€300·60,000/mo · PAYG €0.005
  • As published on pdfmonkey.io (pricing page dated March 2026); no FX conversion applied.
  • PAYG: the pricing FAQ lists Pro+ and Premium only, while docs (2026-08-20) mark PAYG on all paid plans — verify before you buy.

Questions, answered.

Is there a free PDFMonkey alternative?

Leafwright's Hobby plan is free with no credit card: 100 PDFs and 8 AI template drafts per month, hard-capped. PDFMonkey's free plan includes 20 documents a month, with a one-time 30-day trial of 300 documents.

Can I send raw HTML instead of building a template?

Yes — that is the core difference. Leafwright accepts source.type=html (and public URLs) as first-class render sources. PDFMonkey requires a Liquid or Vue template; the documented workaround is passing your markup through a {{htmlContent}} variable.

How do I move my PDFMonkey documents to Leafwright?

Documents that exist as HTML need no migration — POST them to /api/v1/pdfs directly. For templated documents there is no one-click importer: describe the document to the studio's AI (content, layout, brand), refine the drafted Handlebars template on canvas, publish it, and render it by ID with your JSON data.

Does PDFMonkey have an MCP server for AI agents?

As of 2026-09-01, MCP is not stated on pdfmonkey.io. Leafwright publishes a remote MCP server at leafwright.co/mcp and a local package: npx -y @leafwright/mcp.

More comparisons

All comparisons →

Render your first PDF this afternoon

Hobby is free and hard-capped: 100 PDFs and 8 AI template drafts a month, no credit card. Upgrade when you outgrow it.